Skip to content

New Uses for an Old Skull

September 5, 2011

Now that it is September I am already looking forward to Halloween, my favorite time of year. I’ve been making good use of that resin skull I purchased last year by incorporating it into some new paintings. The first one  I finished is a still life. The second which is still in progress, alas, does not have the skull but features a disembodied hand  that usually sits on my hearth and a vintage doll head. The third is so far an underpainting and has the whole skeleton holding his own head in his hand; a theme I used successfully with my dog Bingo in his “Sleepy Hollow” halloween card a few years back.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gem permalink
    September 9, 2011 8:34 pm

    Love the new still life, especially the flock wallpaper and the expression on the face of the mouse. Can’t wait to see what else you are preparing for Halloween – the recent puppet portraits really scared me 🙂

Leave a Reply

