Skip to content

Homage to the humble mouse

October 9, 2011

We have had a mouse in our apartment for the past few weeks and have grown rather fond of him. We’ve even named him Henry. I don’t know why but he just seems so polite and apologetic after having eaten the corners off the banana bread we foolishly left on the kitchen table overnight. We know we must send him on his way before his friends and family turn up but I decided to paint his portrait to remember him by. I imagined him as an old soul so I’ve painted him in quasi victorian garb.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2011 6:36 pm

    Oh i love this one. One day, i will buy another original of yours… this one could be it!

  2. Karen Berretta permalink
    October 28, 2011 4:58 pm

    Lisa, this portrait just killed me. It is so sweet and it really pulled at my heartstrings! I don’t know how you do it. You put a soul into your paintings and bring them to life. It’s like you put a human soul into your animals. This mouse kind of reminds me of Bob Cratchitt. I was just thinking of your goose portrait and how much it looks like Keith!

Leave a Reply

